Posts Tagged ‘SOFT METALS’


Thursday, May 2nd, 2013

softmetals-tellmeLos Angeles via Portland duo Soft Metals are back with an awesome new song. Do yourself a favor and take a listen to “Tell Me”, the first single from their forthcoming sophomore album. The follow-up to their self-titled debut (one of our 2011 favorites) and last year’s interesting collection of remixes, is called Lenses, and is due out this summer on Captured Tracks. Their distinct brand of synth-pop always veers between dreamy and dancefloor-ready, and “Tell Me” is no exception. We’re excited to hear what the rest of the record brings!

Soft Likes.


Wednesday, March 7th, 2012

Eletronic Encounters is a compilation inspired by the soundtrack for “Close Encounters of the Third Kind”. Its new special edition, now available for free download, features an unreleased song by Soft Metals called ‘Implanted Visions’. Speaking of the Portland duo, they also have a remix album coming out soon, including remixes from the likes of VALIS, Xander Harris and The Drum. You can stream the whole thing on Sweating Tapes’ Soundcloud, here’s one of our picks.

Implanted Visions

Soft Facebook.


Saturday, December 31st, 2011

Soft Metals‘ Patricia & Ian listed over 40 of their favorite releases of 2011, check them out below. Glad to see Silk Flowers and Kindest Lines getting some love.
Soft Metals’ self-titled debut LP is out now on Captured Tracks.

We probably forgot some really amazing ones, but these spring to mind. Releases in alphabetical order:

Frank Alpine: Frank Alpine [Wierd Records]
Animal Bodies: Kiss of the Fang [Sweating Tapes]
Arohan: Going [Sweating Tapes]
Austra: Feel It Break [Domino]
Bestial Mouths: Hissing Veil [Dias]
Blouse: Blouse [Captured Tracks]
Bronze: Copper [RVNG]
Disco Nihilist: Running Far Away [Running Back]
Finesse: Elevate/ Believe [Ecstacy]
Grimes: Darkbloom [Arbutus/ Hippos In Tanks]
Xander Harris: Urban Gothic [Not Not Fun]
HTRK: Work [Work, Work] : [Ghostly]
Tim Hecker: Dropped Pianos [Kranky]
Innergaze: Shadow Disco [100% Silk]
Jeff & Jane Hudson: Flesh [Captured Tracks/ Dark Entries]
Jewels of the Nile: Pleasure [ Desire]
Joie Noire: 1 [Desire]
Kindest Lines: Covered in Dust [Wierd Records]
Suzanne Kraft: Morning Come [Running Back]
Philippe Laurent: Hot Bip [Minimal Wave]
Legowelt: Teac Life [self released]
Light Asylum: In Tension [Mexican Summer]
John Maus: We Must Become The Pittiless Censors of Ourselves [Ribbon Music/Upset The Rhythm]
Moon Duo: Mazes [Sacred Bones]
Mushy: Faded Heart [Mannequin]
Mutant Beat Dance: Another World / New News Is Old News [Rong]
Oneohtrix Point Never: Replica [ Mexican Summer/ Software]
Pictureplane: Thee Physical [Lovepump United]
The Present Moment: Loyal To A Fault [Mannequin/ Desire]
Silk Flowers: Ltd. Form [Post Present Medium]
Sleep Over: Forever [Hippos in Tanks]
Soft Moon: Tota Decay [Captured Tracks]
Solvent: RDJCS5 [Suction]
Steve Summers: Mode For Love [Long Island Electrical Systems]
//TENSE//: TV Teach Me/Control 7″ [Answering Machine]
Terminal Twilight: House of Love [Infinite Soundtracks]
Tunnels: The Blackout [Thrill Jockey]
Tycho: Dive [Ghostly]
Vice Device/Hot Victory: Split 7″ [Sweating Tapes]
Violet Tremors: Time Is The Traitor [VT Records]
Virgo Four:Resurrection[Rush Hour]
Visage Musique: Volume 1 [Visage Musique]
Xeno & Oaklander: Sets & Lights album [Wierd Records]
Zola Jesus: Conatus [Sacred Bones]


Wednesday, December 28th, 2011
If you’ve been even remotely regular in following this blog, our number one shouldn’t come as a surprise – I believe I’ve already bothered you enough with my love of Gang Gang Dance’s latest effort (and GGD in general). I’ll leave the list unnumbered because, except for the first 7-8 entries, the rest come in kind of (but not entirely) particular order. And it’s not a strictly albums-of-the-year list, as I’ve included some mixtapes/remix albums/ compilations. Also, I just realised we haven’t covered half of this on the blog… Don’t know how that happens to us every year! Anyway, enough with the explanations, here be the list:

Gang Gang Dance: Eye Contact
John Maus: We Must Become The Pitiless Censors of Ourselves
Julia Holter: Tragedy
Prurient: Bermuda Drain
Water Borders: Harbored Mantras
James Pants: James Pants
The Weeknd: House of Balloons
Nguzunguzu: The Perfect Lullaby
Silk Flowers: Ltd. Form
Belong: Common Era
Planningtorock: W
Shabazz Palaces: Black Up
King Midas Sound: Without You
Tropic of Cancer: The End of All Things
SLEEP ? OVER: Forever
Austra: Feel it Break
Peaking Lights: 936
Clams Casino: Instrumentals
Frank Ocean: Nostalgia, Ultra.
Araabmuzik: Electronic Dream
Chelsea Wolfe: ??????????
U.S. Girls: U.S. Girls on Kraak
Leyland Kirby: Eager to Tear Apart the Stars
Death in Vegas: Trans-Love Energies
James Blake: James Blake
Soft Metals: Soft Metals
Demdike Stare: Triptych
Kindest Lines: Covered in Dust
Oneohtrix Point Never: Replica
Steve Hauschildt: Tragedy & Geometry
Grouper: A I A : Alien Observer / A I A : Dream Loss
Nicolas Jaar: Space Is Only Noise
Tim Hecker: Ravedeath, 1972
Maria Minerva: Cabaret Cixous
Bvdub: Tribes at the Temple of Silence
Kate Bush: 50 Words for Snow
Tearist: Living: 2009-Present
ASAP Rocky: LiveLoveA$AP
Zola Jesus: Conatus
Rustie: Glass Swords


Wednesday, December 14th, 2011

Soft Metals have released a new video for ‘Psychic Driving’, one of the highlights from this year’s excellent self-titled debut LP. Video made by Erica Schreiner. Soft Metals is out on Captured Tracks.

If you can see this, then you might need a Flash Player upgrade or you need to install Flash Player if it's missing. Get Flash Player from Adobe.

MP3: Psychic Driving

Facebook Metals.


Tuesday, June 22nd, 2010

The latest mix in our Guest mix series comes from Portland duo Soft Metals. They have recently signed to Captured Tracks to release their debut EP and LP. Also, their fine remix of HEALTH‘s ‘//M\\’ is featured on the DISCO2 bonus disc.
Soft Metals deliver a  well mixed collection of dark electronic gems – some minimal synth, new wave, synth pop and ebm plus some italo disco and house. There you go:


01. Deux – Paris/Orly
02. The Human League – A Crow And A Baby
03. Gay Cat Park – I Am A Vocoder
04. Absolute Body Control – 5 Minutes
05. Xeno & Oaklander – Toho Picture
06. Severed Heads – Dead Eyes Opened (Joakim Edit)
07. Soft Cell – Insecure Me (Playgroup Mix)
08. Alexandra Parade – Ruchill Rumpus
09. Hard Corps – Je Suis Passe
10. Dopplereffekt – Infophysix
11. Snowy Red – Sinkin’ Down

Soft Myspace.


Monday, May 10th, 2010

Download the new song by Portland duo Soft Metals. Well, it’s actually the first song they “wrote together with vocals, but just recently made a proper recording of it”. However, it’s perhaps their best one yet so get it:

Another Goodbye

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Soft Myspace.


Wednesday, March 31st, 2010

Soft Metals are a Portland duo comprised of Ian Hixx and Patricia Furpurse. Like their fellow Portlanders The Miracles Club, they make catchy house/ italo disco/ synth pop tunes played on vintage synthesizers. No word on a release yet, but you can download their brand new song ‘The Cold World Melts’ and another one, ‘Love or Music’.

The Cold World Melts
Love or Music

Soft Metals’ Myspace.